Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Minor wiring problem giving me a big headache...pics (HELP!)

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2008, 08:56 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Icon3 Minor wiring problem giving me a big headache...pics (HELP!)

Ok, so I'm a total noob when it comes to wiring. I got a set of foglights a while back and was having problems with the switch so as suggested in a previous thread I made, I decided to buy a regular 2-way switch from Autozone and wire that up to my fogs. I cut the wires and fitted connectors on the ends and connected them to the switch. The switch has three contacts,1 for the ground, 1 for the power to the lights, and 1 for power from the power source. I followed the diagram for the switch. The harness for the lights has 5 wires, 2 black and 3 red. One red wire was by itself, the other two red were together as well as the black. 01_CLtypeS sent me pictures of how his switch was wired so I followed his pictures and did mine the same way since his harness had 5 wires as well.

After I connected everything, I turned on my headlights and the foglights came on as well. The problem was, that no matter what position I flipped the switch to, my foglights remained on. Me not thinking, assumed that I mixed up the ground and power connections so I switched them. The lights did not come on this time, so I switched them back to how they originally were and they still didn't come on, so I pretty much new I blew a fuse. I looked at the dash and realized I didn't have lights there for my speedometer and tach, as well as the A/C control lights.

So I have a 2-part question. What fuse do I have to replace, and do you guys think I wired the lights incorrectly and if so how should I wire them?

On to the pics:

This is how 01_CLtypeS has his switch wired up:

and here's how I did mine:

Here's how the wires looked on the plug for the original switch: