Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Infamous D16y8 Spun Bearing

Old 02-14-2017, 12:29 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Infamous D16y8 Spun Bearing

Honestly never used a forum before so not gettin my hopes up but any help is greatly appreciated
Im goin to be pickin up a 96 civic for the mrs in a few days, so dont know a whole lot bout the car at the moment, but I do know it has a spun bearing and im new to hondas but have been turning wrenches a LONG TIME

What i need to know is what is a better fix for the lack of oil circulation on the bearings??
Iv heard of bearings with largers holes but cant seem to find where to buy them....or should i just got with my gut and up the oil pump and call it a day?? Or should i just go low comp and use a Y7/Y8 combo?? As i said this is a car for the Mrs. so i need reliability while still being fun to drive
Also tryin to price cranks any reputable places to order one??
So in a nut shell lookin for some help on a parts hunt
Old 02-14-2017, 07:56 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Infamous D16y8 Spun Bearing

The Y8 and Y7 have very weak blocks. That's been my experience, along with countless others.

I think you could drop in a B18 for cheaper than rebuilding the Y8, unless you're planning on doing the rebuild yourself.
Old 02-14-2017, 09:38 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Yes doin the work myself. Honestly been thinkin bout a b series, but from what iv seen in my area everybody thinks they are made of gold and this is just a daily driver toy for the mrs not looking to get to outrageous, leaning towards stickin with the Y's just cuz they are a dime a dozen just not tryin to have to open it up ever 6weeks
Old 02-15-2017, 04:33 PM
Seagull Management

Received 24 Likes on 22 Posts