Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Hole in oil pan, but engine runs?

Old 11-20-2014, 04:15 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hole in oil pan, but engine runs?

hi guys im new to the mechanics side of cars, i do autobody repair and paint, but i was driving my 97 civic si home and the engine just died out on me no bangs or noise just shut off on the highway, leaving behind a huge oil trail and puddle when i came to a stop, when i had it towed i noticed there is a hole in the oil pan, but the engine starts and runs, just has the sound of a exhaust leak. is the engine blown? i took off the valve cover and all the internals are still there. i will be removing the pan in the morning is there anything i should look for to tell if the engine is blown or not? timing belt is still intact so that did not snap, just before the accident my AC idler tension-er fell off but i bought and replaced that and there was no damage to any components other then the pulley wheel had to be replaced, could the pulley slipping cause the timing to mess up or could a cracked oil pan blow out after so much pressure causing this problem?

Engine is D16Y8 with 178,XXX-Kms and i was doing about 120 and just shifted into 4th gear during this accident
Old 11-21-2014, 05:04 AM
Loves Tossing Salad

Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Re: Hole in oil pan, but engine runs?

Wait, so you started the car when you knew there was no oil in it?
Old 11-21-2014, 06:31 AM
Honda-Tech Member

It is highly likely that something catastrophic happened when you were on the highway leaving a huge trail and puddle when you came to a stop. The fact that there was a hole in the oil pan after it was towed indicates perhaps your car was fine, but SOMETHING made that hole which made you dump the oil.