Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

help: 92 civic wont start

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2003, 11:40 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default help: 92 civic wont start

it almost started a few times, the engine just started clicking really slowly, like it was started and was running in slow motion or something. everytime we cranked it for a bit, after stepping on the throttle when it seems like its gonna start, the air intake kinda spat out air (or atleast seemed like it) when we stopped trying to start it.

i went to canadian tire got the battery checked, and charged
i tried to use quick start on the throttle body, but no luck

people told me to check the fuel filter, fuel pump, and spark plugs
can someone tell me where the fuel filter is located, i am a newbie to engines..
Old 03-21-2003, 11:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: help: 92 civic wont start (neilff)

It sounds like you are doing the right stuff in the right order. The fuel filter is located on the firewall behind the intake manifold. It is a black cylinder about half the height of a soda can. Should have two fuel lines bolted to it.
Old 03-21-2003, 11:57 AM

Default Re: help: 92 civic wont start (willahlborn)

okay, i thought it was that

how do i go about inspecting it? and when i do get to it, how should it appear if its 'good'?
Old 03-21-2003, 12:38 PM

They're pretty cheap to replace. If you haven't done it before, I would recommend replacing it. I guess to test it, unhook the negative battery cable. Wait 10 mins. Remove fuel lines from the fuel filter. Make sure to put plenty of rags below the filter to catch dripping fuel. Remove filter. Wipe it off; you should be able to blow in the inlet without much restriction. Kinda nasty though, I'd just recommend replacing it anyway. Also, take out your spark plugs. Inspect the tips. If they're good, they may be a little brown but with no oil or deposits.

Testing the fuel pump: