Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Getting started with Honda's

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2016, 08:30 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting started with Honda's

Firstly, id like to start with, I'm not exactly sure where to post this.. Since GDD seems like strictly non-car stuff.

Hey everybody, I'm new to the HT forum and Honda's in general. Soon I'll be leaving highschool and heading out into the world of college (Oh boy.) And where I live I'll pretty much assuredly have to drive some ways out of the way to attend college. So, this brings up a problem. My first car was/is a 1967 Mustang that I've been working on for some years now, and as much as I love it, The gas mileage is awful 8-14 depending on how I drive it (so normally closer to 8) And to be realistic, I can't drive it every day to college especially with some concerns I have about the engine, which is a different story.

So, frankly I am here because I am intrigued. For the Majority of my time being involved with cars I've seen Honda's and Imports in general as not much more than ricey pieces of junk. Then, one day on my way home from school I was in a race with what I think was a later model mitsubishi eclipse that almost handed me my ***, and to be almost beat by an IMPORT That was the worst! But, that was the first time I actually considered imports seriously. Now here I am, In need of a fun enjoyable car that will also provide good gas mileage for communting. I've found that I actually in many cases really enjoy the look of an EG Hatch. And the thought of having a car that might actually handle reasonably well interests me. So, Here are my real questions..

Is a Honda right for me? I've got a decent amount of mechanical knowledge due to the project that was my first car (building engine, 5-speed swap, rearend, suspension, etc.) But, I hardly know much about fuel injection or anything like that.