Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Getting ready for turbo!

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2007, 04:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting ready for turbo!

I own a 99 civic ex with a d16y8 engine......Im new to this and am wanting to put a turbo on it....right now its stock, what do i do to the engine to get ready for turbo?
Old 01-15-2007, 04:18 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

research is your best friend.

you pretty much dont need to do much to the motor now to get it ready for turbo other than pumping 91 octane fuel. unless you want to boost very high than you should be thinking about fully rebuilding internals but if you know how and wanted to boost that high you wouldn't be asking us questions like this.

i say just go to the turbo forum and start reading. you have options of either going custom turbo build up or buying a kit. its up to you.
Old 01-15-2007, 04:25 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Getting ready for turbo! (Tommyguns)

You might want to make sure that your car is in proper working condition. Check for any leaks and make sure your car doesnt burn oil when reving high. Might need new rings for that. A friend of mine didnt change his piston rings and ended up blowing the motor cuz of it. Hope this helps.
Old 01-15-2007, 04:28 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Getting ready for turbo! (asianjkim)

I'm doing the same thing in a month or so, have the kit, getting the final pieces together. As others have stated, depending on your HP goal and what PSI you'll be running depends on what you need to put in the motor itself. From what I understand 7-10 PSI is a SAFE area to be boosting, and a goal of 200-250 HP is a realistic and SAFE goal on a stock motor. http://www.turbod16.com is a very informative and helpful site. If you just read the stickys and such you'll get most of the info you need.
Old 01-15-2007, 05:35 PM

Default Re: Getting ready for turbo! (bart2546)