Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Dashboard Vin Replacement CHP Blue Tag Process?

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2008, 06:11 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dashboard Vin Replacement CHP Blue Tag Process?

Before anyone criticizes this: i did search vin numbers and found nothing about the process.

So when i bought my car the dash board was changed for whatever reason and the guy just simply reglued the old vin tag back on. Now see i've had the car for over 2 years now and never had a problem with this and didn't think i would have a problem but the other day when i ran into trouble with the campus police when my car was PARKED!!! WTF! anyways so checked my chassis stamp and my door tag sticker and said that everything looked okay, but they said i had to go to the CHP and get a replacement blue tag. Im a full time student and this is just rediculous. i dont even have enough time to study as it is...

now from research, i read about going to home depot and riveting my tag back on cuase it was actually swapped and reglued pretty neatly but im just worried that the same cop might come back so i thought i should get some more information first on the "legal" way of doing things. *sigh*** paperwork

so i was just wondering if anyones gone through the blue tag process before that could answer some of my endless amount of questions...

Modified by wlee112 at 7:17 PM 10/1/2008
Old 10-01-2008, 08:53 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Dashboard Vin Replacement CHP Blue Tag Process? (BrakeDanceJ)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by BrakeDanceJ &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">My advice: shove papers or put stickers in the windshield over your VIN.

I have some blocking mine to prevent people from cutting keys to my car.</TD></TR></TABLE>