Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

d16 del sol - turbo setup question

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2010, 10:03 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default d16 del sol - turbo setup question

hey,

my buddy has a d16 swapped del sol that he's looking to turbo. I'm trying to help him source parts to make a kit, but I know nearly nothing about the D motor since I'm fairly new to Hondas, and my only experience falls with the K.

I recently met a guy with a d16 civic that he had turbo'd, and when I inquired about it, he said he just used the manifold, turbo and intercooler off of a mitsubishi eclipse. Seems strange to me that a turbo mani from a different car like an eclipse would even fit, let alone all the piping to line up as well (to be fair, most of it was ziptied to his car and not very well put together...). I'm just wondering, was this guy actually correct in that you can use the manifold, turbo and intercooler from an eclipse?

I've been googling this regligous with no results, so I'm inclined to think he was wrong. Right now we're just trying to put together a kit that is fairly solid without spending $2000 or whatnot on it. Thanks for any info
Old 05-30-2010, 10:38 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: d16 del sol - turbo setup question

Look around on the marketplace here. I actually got almost my whole turbo kit put together with used parts from members here. I'm not sure exactly what your buddy did with the mitsu parts, but I know a 4g63 mani will not fit up to a d16. I'm using a mitsu turbo, but my manifold is just a stainless steel mani for the d16 and I welded the appropriate flange on the bottom. Otherwise rcautoworks or goautoworks make excellent manifolds.