Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Condensor Fan Fuse Keeps Popping

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2009, 08:43 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon6 Condensor Fan Fuse Keeps Popping

Hey guys I need your helping with finding the reason and solution to my condensor fan fuse popping. I was driving to work today and a/c was working fine, rolled down the window to get some fresh air and then got a phone call so rolled the windows up and kit the a/c but no cold air. When I got to work I had one of the techs look at it and he said my condensor fan was not turning on and checked the fuse, it was blown. He replaced it and a few mins later it blew. We replaced it again and it was fine for a few hours until I got off work and went home. The tech at work said it might be the compressor arcing and causing the fuse to pop. I am no mechanic and have dont really know that much about a/c systems so I am here asking for all the a/c experts here on HT for some help to fix this problem.

Here is a little bit of info on my car:

-its a 99 hatch Dx
-bought the car with no a/c
-bought the a/c parts from a HT member and installed it myself
-a/c was installed about 1 year ago and have not had any problems with it until today
-no electrical problems with the car since I have owned it
-rear motor mount is shot and needs to be replaced (this probably has nothing to do with my issue but am just throwing it out there just incase)
-fuse that is popping is located in the engine bay (by the firewall on the passenger side) and it is labeled as condensor fan and is a 20 amp fuse

If there is any other info I forgot please let me know

Thanks in adavnce

Last edited by 714DC4; 05-06-2009 at 08:59 PM. Reason: forgot some info
Old 05-06-2009, 08:52 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 44 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Re: Condensor Fan Fuse Keeps Popping

What specific fuse is blowing? Fuse 56?
Old 05-06-2009, 08:58 PM
Honda-Tech Member