Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

95 Civic Overheated...engine problems...help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2011, 08:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 95 Civic Overheated...engine problems...help!!!

Hey guys...I'm new to Hondatech...and about 6 months new to the tuning world of D Series and I'm kind of stumped for the first time and really need some help.

I have a 95 civic dx with a z6 swap and a turbo kit pieced together I just got tuned. I was out about 35 minutes from home selling a turbo to some guy and as I was pulling in to meet him...I was at a stop light and my radiator decided it wanted to take a **** on me...I noticed steam coming from under my hood and my car started overheating...I quickly ran the red light to get into the parking lot and shut off my car. I found about a 2 inch crack in the plastic seam at the top of the radiator. Luckily I was at walmart...and picked up some coolant, radiator stop leak (didn't work for crap), and jb weld (to seal the crack until my new radiator came in). Well after I sold the turbo...I noticed my phone was dead and I was kind of out in the middle of nowhere...so I decided to drive home and make lots of stops to keep filling up coolant. Well I eventually made it home with the engine running pretty damn hot as the coolant just kind of poured out of the radiator. I babied the car pretty much the whole half an hour it took to get home.