Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

2000 hatch opinions

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2013, 08:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 hatch opinions

My Ej6 is pretty damn slow to say the least. Its a stock d16y7 with an auto tranny. Someone put an ebay exhaust system on it before i got it, so when the rpms hit about 3k the exhaust has a very annoying and loud rattling sound.
Im tired of being embarrassed. I have a hatch and one day I would really like to have a nice one. So I have a few questions that I would like opinions on from you nice people. Im fairly new to the honda game. So any advice would be much appreciated. First off, One day I am going to build a b series and do a swap. Ive been looking at the JDM B18c-r full swaps on sites like torontojdm. If i buy one i still plan on doing a complete bolt on upgrade on it such as skunk2 intake manifold, toda lightweight racing flywheel, skunk2 vtec solenoid, aem fuel rail, bigger throttle body, injen cold air intake, etc. But I also would want to build this thing...CP forged pistons, eagle rods, race bearings, port n polished head, stage 2 or 3 cams, retainers, valve springs, guides, the whole 9 yards. with all that being said, Would I actually be gaining anything by buying an itr engine and turning around and changing all the guts out? will doing this have any benefits over a proper ls/vtec or over buying any old gsr and building it with the same parts? My first thought would be no. but idk for sure. I really want the itr hydro lsd 5spd trans from and itr. Is it really worth all that money?
One thing i do know is that i want to have vtec, so i dont want to just build and boost and ls. (i mean after all...its what Honda is known for, and i love the way it sounds and how it feels when it does engage.)
But I dont know yet if I want to build an all motor or if i want boost.