Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

1997 CIVIC DX HEADER ISSUES

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2005, 09:31 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1997 CIVIC DX HEADER ISSUES

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here so please help out. I have a 1997 Civic DX, engine code D16Y7. I wanna change the header on it with a Megan Racing one that I can get a good deal on, but my car is the one that has the stupid CAT built into the header right at the exhaust manifold. Now I know moving the stock location of the CAT is illegal here in Ontario, but that is not my concern, cause no one knows where it is suppose to be anyways. My concern is will I still be able to pass emissions if I put an aftermarket CAT into the mid section right after the header??? My car is an OBDII, so now O2 sensor position is key, cause from the factory there is one right before, and right after the CAT (in the actual bottom of the CAT). If I put the one in the top where it is suppose to be on the new header, and then buy an aftermarket CAT with the second sensor in it or get an Integra CAT (I heard this could work) and put it in the midsection, do you think I'll run into problems??? Will the O2 sensores be in wrong spots to work properly and make my engine light come on and send bad info the the ECU or something??? I know the Megan Racing header has 2 premaid holes on it, one at the top, and one right at the bottom of the header, but if you use these two holes, things cant work properly cause both the sensors would be before the CAT and that defeats the purpose of OBDII. Has anyone else had this problem or know exactly what to do??? Honda suggested the Integra CAT or getting the computer chipped afterwords. Please help! haha
thanks, Anto.
Old 07-12-2005, 11:19 AM

Default Re: 1997 CIVIC DX HEADER ISSUES (anto13)