Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

1993 del sol first time auto to manual swap and I feel so lost

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2016, 11:13 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1993 del sol first time auto to manual swap and I feel so lost

Hey everyone! I'm completely new to doing any swap of any kind on a honda just putting that out there real quick. So first off I have a 93 del sol which the auto trans has decided to give out after a generous 210,000 miles and have decided to swap it for a manual instead of rebuilding it. It's an Si model with a D16Z6 vtec motor and a auto p28 ecu. Today I picked up a s20 manual trans with a p06 manual ecu for 300. Can I install the trans and plug in the p06-a02 ecu and it simply work? Or since the engine is a vtec will the p06 not active the vtec and I'll have to chip the p06 myself? How would I go about tuning that for my D16Z6? I literally have no knowledge of chipping, tuning odb and other acronyms for terms referring to items or parts on a transmission swap. So when reading a guide I get kinda turned around on a few things. I know basically what I need I will need for the swap for the del sol. Shift linkage from a manual del sol, clutch and plate, flywheel, manual flywheel bolts, manual starter, a hasport mount/bracket, clutch assembly(no idea what needs to be connected to the assembly for the del sol or what it would be called exactly) and the slave cylinder(?). Yes, my honda I.Q. is low lol but I want to learn more for just the del sol specifically. Sorry for such a long and probably repeating post but thank you for who ever reads it and replies.
Old 02-21-2016, 11:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: 1993 del sol first time auto to manual swap and I feel so lost