Notices
Honda Civic (2006 - 2015) 2006 - 2015 Civic Forums

Koni Str.t with Stock Springs

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2013, 02:34 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Koni Str.t with Stock Springs

I know you guys see posts like this all the time, but im a noob in this arena and couldn't find people asking about similar setups.

I got an 06 si coupe on stock shocks and struts. Its my DD and i like to have fun with it once in awhile. I do not want to lower it.

1. Koni Str.ts with Stock Springs. Can it work? (I.E id like to just swap them out)

2. Are the str.ts bolt ins? (I.E i dont want to have to modify anything to get them to fit)

3. Any idea how the ride might be with this setup?

Let me know and thank you in advance for any and all helpful advice.

Last edited by PhilUp24; 08-07-2013 at 05:25 PM.
Old 08-08-2013, 08:53 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Koni Str.t with Stock Springs

Well.. I went ahead and ordered the Konis anyway. A buddy of mine says itll be a little better than stock which is all i was aiming for. He also suggested that i go ahead get new springs for a mild drop and just do it all at once... Im not sure yet, but if i do, any recommendations? Im seeing H&R sports being paired with the Str.ts in a few posts.
Old 08-08-2013, 12:16 PM
Honda-Tech Member

I installed Str.t's on stock springs, and yes, they'll just bolt in provided nothing is seized. Str.t's are really just basic oem replacements, so I'm not sure how durable they'll be with any drop. I only wanted Koni's basic line for now to replace blown original shocks so I could learn more about spring rates, handling, etc on the autoX courses before upgrading to the higher end stuff

Personally, if I went with lowering springs I would have gone with koni sports. But someone with more experience in pairing shocks/springs should probably chime in..... if they exist on this site anymore. People here get really chapped with basic questions i noticed.