Notices
Honda Civic (2001 - 2005) Coupe / Sedan / Hybrid (Includes Acura EL)

Hard time driving manual

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2008, 04:57 PM
* B A N N E D *

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hard time driving manual

okay... I just started learning how to drive manual about a month or so ago and I can't seem to keep my car going fast enough to keep up with other cars in front of me after a stop when I shift from 1st to 2nd gear.

RPM
1st, let go of gear at 2-2500 rpm

It's hard to explain, but maybe someone knows what I am talking about... what am I doing wrong?

Maybe I'm not shifting from 1st or 2nd gear fast eough? Shifting at wrong rpm?
Old 05-23-2008, 07:14 PM

Default Re: Hard time driving manual (vroomboom)

well start in 1st gear give it a little bit of gas and as you do that start letting the clutch go slowly and as you start catching up speed (20 or 25 MPH) SHIFT to 2nd gear push the clutch all the way in, and let the gas go then repeat the same step as 1st gear but this time it I'LL be a little bit faster. and then just do the same steps to get up to 5th gear. you'll learn fast you just have to work in the clutch and the gas. how to give gas at the right time and how to let the clutch go at the right time.
Old 05-23-2008, 09:20 PM
* B A N N E D *

Default Re: Hard time driving manual (nsrkeeper)

20/25 MPH? By then isn't the rpm like 3500 or so? I was tought to shift at 2000/25000 RPM. I guess I'll shift when the car is going at that speed. Can I shift from 1st to 3rd without ruining the car?
Old 05-23-2008, 09:37 PM
Honda-Tech Member

why the hell would you want to go from 1st to 3rd..... Going over 2500 isnt bad for your car just to let you know. Try shifting at 4k and you'll keep up with everyone, you've been driving for a month and you still dont know what your doing wtf. I learned in 20 minutes.
Old 05-23-2008, 10:32 PM
* B A N N E D *

Default Re: Hard time driving manual (JDMPLEASE)