Notices
Honda Civic (2001 - 2005) Coupe / Sedan / Hybrid (Includes Acura EL)

2001 HONDA CIVIC A/C COMPRESSOR

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2011, 11:22 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 HONDA CIVIC A/C COMPRESSOR

OK ALL YOU EXPERTS. I AM NEW TO WORKING ON HONDA'S I USUALLY WORK ON GO FAST BOATS THE AC IS QUITE A BIT DIFFERENT. MY COMPRESSOR/CLUTCH ON MY 2001 CIVIC LX WENT. IT FROZE UP TO THE POINT WHERE THE BELT SPINNING AROUND IT WON'T SPIN FAST ENOUGH TO GET THE CAR STARTED. I HAD IT TOWED BACK TO THE HOUSE. NOW READY TO ORDER PARTS AND GET HER FIXED.
MANY QUESTIONS.???
I WAS GOING TO BUY ONE OF THE AFTERMARKET COMPRESSORS FROM EBAY ANY LUCK WITH THESE. I DON'T WANT TO BUY USED.??

SHOULD I BUY THE WHOLE KIT, INCLUDING DRIER, OIL ETC.??

IS THE COMPRESSOR A PAIN TO GET OUT. WHAT DO I HAVE TO REMOVE TO GET AT IT. ????

CAN I JUST UNHOOK THE LINES AND UNBOLT THE OLD COMPRESSOR/ PUT THE NEW COMPRESSOR IN WITHOUT HOOKING UP THE LINES THEN DRIVE IT TO LOCAL SHOP TO GET IT FLUSHED AND CHARGED. ???

CAN THE NEW COMPRESSOR SPIN WITHOUT ANY LINES HOOKED TO IT WITHOUT DOING ANY DAMAGE.????

THANKS FOR ALL HELP.
Old 03-21-2011, 01:38 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: 2001 HONDA CIVIC A/C COMPRESSOR

Hadn't had to replace the compressor on mine yet (crosses fingers). So, I don't know about the aftermarket ones, sorry.

With the system being that old I would get the whole kit as it's cheap insurance against near future breakdowns.

Remove alt, remove fan, remove A/c lines, remove compressor.