Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

Transmission/drive axle? oil leak

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2008, 06:37 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission/drive axle? oil leak

Hi everyone out there I am having a fairly bad tranny oil leak that was coming from the driveaxle seals so i thought ,so i replaced them and the problem remains. I can see the leak come from the driveaxle seal on the driver side and from the casing near the passenger side as i am under the car while lifted and in gear. Has anyone else had this same problem and what was the solution? I am stumped. I am a pretty good mechanic but i have no clue why the seals keep leaking?
Old 11-09-2008, 05:04 AM
In a Junkyard near you.

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

well it might be helpful to know what kind of car this is...
Old 11-10-2008, 07:54 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: (Ross 2.0)

Sorry bout that. My car is a 2002 4 cyl auto Accord.I'll post some pics as soon as i am able.
Old 11-10-2008, 09:59 AM
In a Junkyard near you.

If you are 100% positive the seal is installed correctly. You probably need a new transmission. the differentials in those cars are known to start getting free play and won't allow the axles to seal.

Modified by Ross 2.0 at 2:22 PM 11/10/2008
Old 11-10-2008, 01:30 PM
Honda-Tech Member