Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

Side glass mirror fell off... can I put it back in?

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2005, 10:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Side glass mirror fell off... can I put it back in?

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting (didn't even know this place existed until I searched it today)...

My problem is that someone hit the passenger side mirror in my parking lot. The mirror casing is completely intact... the only problem apparently is that the actual mirror piece fell off. Because the mirror piece is not cracked and looks perfectly fine, I'm wondering if there's a way to simply place it back into the casing.

I've tried to simply "push" the mirror piece back into the casing, but that didn't work. I have very little knowledge about car mechanics, so any help would be appreciated. Sorry and thanks!
Old 12-13-2005, 04:04 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Side glass mirror fell off... can I put it back in? (urkelabc)

If its just the glass mirror piece that needs to be attached to the backing plate use some clear silicone and "glue" it back into place. The silicone is not affected by heat or cold and the glass will stay in place for ever.
Old 12-13-2005, 04:32 AM
In a Junkyard near you.

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Well if we knew what kind of accord you have it would help. but MOST Honda mirrors just snap in. If you have the plastic piece attached to the back of the glass you may be able to snap it back in. Spray a little silicone spray on it to help you out.
Old 12-13-2005, 05:51 AM

Default Re: (MooGoCow3)

Thanks guys for the responses, I definitely appreciate it

The car is a Honda Accord EX 2004.