Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

Searched, but still can't remove hub & rotor - help!

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2004, 12:37 PM
JEC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Searched, but still can't remove hub & rotor - help!

Hello everyone, I am a newbie here but have been wrenching on RX-7s and Porsches for a while.
I love my daily driver: a '92 Accord Coupe (green base model, auto, 160K+ miles), it's so comfy, so trustworthy, and willing to take abuse - like repeated hard braking...

Anyway I'm deep into replacing the front rotors (and calipers too, got some nice reman kits from NAPA) but now I'm up against the wall.

The worthless Hayes manual is fine up to where you slide the end of the axle out of the hub and turn the assembly to remove the 4 hidden 12-point bolts.

Fine - they're off. And the hub-rotor assembly is still quite firmly attached to the steering knuckle. Hayes simply says, "Remove it." HOW!!!????!!!???
I pulled, pried, cursed, even put the 12-point bolts halfway back in and tried to use my two-jaw puller to press on them with a block of steel - and scarred the side of the knuckle casting.
It's reeeeealllllly stuck.

If anyone knows how to get the rotors off without removing the whole knuckle and tossing sticks of dynamite at it, please help!
Old 10-18-2004, 01:53 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Searched, but still can't remove hub & rotor - help! (JEC)

what i did on my 1995....

take off all the caliper stuff brackets, etc....
took out the 4 bolts that hold the rotor in place....
popped out the upper/lower balljoints, and pulled the knuckle off....
there are 4 bolts on the back around the bearing....take those out....all this is 17mm i believe.
lightly tap the hub out of the knuckle, and presto.... reassemble.

i may have mistyped something, but my head is killing me and i figured id atleast try..meh
Old 10-18-2004, 03:48 PM
JEC

Default Re: Searched, but still can't remove hub & rotor - help! (madd)