Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

Rear Balance Shaft Seal

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2012, 12:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear Balance Shaft Seal

Hi folks - newbie here. I have become the de facto mechanic for my GF's 1990 Accord EX. Tracing an oil leak at the front of the engine. Yesterday I did a timing belt change and replaced the crank, cam and front balance shaft seals. I could not find any info on the rear balance shaft seal, other than that there is an o-ring seal involved. The gear appears to be pressed on and I can't tell where the o-ring might be. A Hayne's manual was no help.

Can someone please point me to a step-by-step for replacing this rear balance shaft seal?

Thanks!
Old 10-09-2012, 02:13 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 70 Likes on 66 Posts
Default Re: Rear Balance Shaft Seal

Removal is pretty simple once you know what you're looking for. before you begin though you need to be at TDC on #1. The rear shaft is geared to run reverse rotation of the front so you'll need to lock it in position while things are apart. this step is very important if you want a vibration free result.

the rear pulley is in fact pressed onto the stub shaft. this is all a single unit assembly with the gear housing behind it. the o-ring seal is between that gear housing and the oil pump housing. After setting TDC, remove the bolt circled in red below. Use a thin (about 1/4" or less), long (at least 2.5") bolt or nail or screwdriver to lock the balance shaft through this bolt hole.

Name:  rearbalanceremoval-1.png
Views: 7490
Size:  364.5 KB

check out the three bolts/nut circled in green. remove these and the gear housing, pulley and all will come off. ensure the small timing mark (about the 4 o'clock position) is in line with the dot on the pulley on removal and install. then you'll see something like below;

Name:  F23A1_PUMP.png
Views: 12853
Size:  512.1 KB