Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

Changing brake caliper

Old 08-15-2011, 02:41 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Changing brake caliper

I have a 94 accord wagon and one of the rear calipers is locked up. I have a new caliper and pads that I need to put on. I've never done a caliper before. Does anyone have aDIY? How difficult is it? Thanks
Old 08-15-2011, 03:17 AM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: Changing brake caliper

Put some kind of canister or jug under the caliper area to catch brake fluid. Take a pair of vice grips and close/crimp it off just above the brake line where you're going to be taking it off before you open the caliper line. You wanna do this to reduce the amount of fluid coming out of the brake line when you open the line up. Then just take it off, should be a 14mm I think. Put the new one on, close it up really good and tight. Then bleed the brakes. Test really good while checking for leaks before you try to test drive.
Old 08-15-2011, 03:22 AM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Obviously I'm leaving out the brake pads assuming you already know what to do there.
Old 08-15-2011, 04:41 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Yeah I'm good on the pads. Thanks. So it is just disconnecting the brake line and the 2 bolts on back and it slides off?
Old 08-15-2011, 12:29 PM
B*a*n*n*e*d

To get the brake line off the caliper it just has a bolt with two crush washers on it like the ones you see on the fuel filter but bigger. They say to replace the crush washers whenever you change the caliper but it is possible sometimes to reuse them. Just make sure you do lots of checking and testing because fluid will leak there if it doesn't seal all the way.
Old 08-15-2011, 08:56 PM
Honda-Tech Member

first off make sure you bleed the new caliper correctly after everything is back together-yes you will need a second person to make sure its done right.