Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

can i remove my front sway bar?

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2009, 08:29 AM
New User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 can i remove my front sway bar?

my passenger-side front sway bar mount has rusted off of the subframe. the guys at the garage tell me that it's beyond welding and that i need to get another subframe.

however, a guy i know who does a lot of car modification told me to just remove the front sway bar altogether, and see how the handling feels. if i like it, do nothing. if i don't, then either 1) replace the sway bar and the subframe, OR 2) stiffen the rear sway bar.

how does all this sound to all of you? what would you suggest? bear in mind that i don't really demand the highest performance out of my car - i'm just a regular driver.

a couple specific questions i have:
1) will removing the front sway bar put greater pressure/damage elsewhere on my car? will removing it be dangerous?
2) how safe/unsafe is it to drive with just one sway bar mount intact?

thanks for any help you can offer.
happy holidays

--luke
98 accord LX, 4-cylinder, 5-speed
Old 12-23-2009, 10:10 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: can i remove my front sway bar?

Sway bars are meant to reduce body roll and to improve handling. You can go ahead and remove it if you really want to. Just keep in mind that your cars handling up front will most likely be pretty loose after you do. Try it out like your friend said and see what you think.

Most likely you'll want to get your hands on another one. Even with regular driving you SHOULD notice the difference. If not, problem solved I suppose.
Old 12-23-2009, 10:59 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 67 Likes on 67 Posts

It shouldn't be that hard to weld in a section of new metal vs replacing the complete sub frame. Unless your sub frame is completely gone. If that is the case then I wouldn't suggest driving it at all. With or without the stabilizer bar.