Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

A/C Troubleshooting Help Needed

Old 11-20-2015, 08:18 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A/C Troubleshooting Help Needed

I have a 2002 Honda Accord EX 4 Cyl. The other day, when driving on the freeway, I noticed that when I turn on the A/C, only room temperature air blows out. Since air does come out, I don't think it is the blower under the glove box. I looked under the hood and noticed that with the A/C on, A/C fan and Radiator fan both turn on, but then off very quickly (~3 seconds). The car hasn't overheated after driving distance. When I turn on the A/C, I have not seen the compressor clutch engage at all.

I'm not that experienced with troubleshooting these kinds of things, but have been doing a lot of searching on the Internet, so I've tried a few things:

1. I double-checked all controls on dash to make sure they work (fresh air/recycle button, A/C on/off, made sure temp is on coldest)

2. I checked all fuses (under hood, and next to driver/passenger side doors and they look fine)

3. I've switched the 2 fan relays in the fuse box to see if one was broken. This made no effect on the situation, so I switched them back.

Is there anything else that I can try? I would really like to at least figure out what is wrong and possibly fix it before going to the mechanic.

Thanks for any help,
Andrew
Old 11-21-2015, 01:46 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Have you checked whether or not you actually have refrigerant in the system? Low or none will prevent compressor from engaging
Old 11-21-2015, 09:18 AM
Trial User

Default Re: A/C Troubleshooting Help Needed

No, I haven't checked that. Do I need special pressure gauges to do this?
Old 11-22-2015, 09:58 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post