Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

Idle "hunting" after warm

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2022, 08:52 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Idle "hunting" after warm

I've got my 2000 Honda Accord 2.3 ULEV with a bent valve in the garage to fix it. I got the 2 bent exhaust valves replaced 😀. But now I have extremely fast idle when cold, 2000 rpms, and when it warms or throttle is tapped it starts hunting going from 1000-2000 rpms and won't stop til the car is off. But here's the kicker there are no codes. Figured it was a lack of coolant in the IACV so I drove it for 10 minutes with heat on just to get coolant flowing. Still no luck. I unplugged the IACV and restarted the engine and the idle still hunted but not as high. This is my first Honda so I'm still learning this thing. Also while changing the valve I kinda adjusted the rocker screw thingy just to see if the valve just wasn't closing cause it was too tight........ And now there is a slight tick on that side of the engine 😔. I am at a loss of what could be causing the idle hunting. The ticking I can fix. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 08-13-2022, 10:10 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: Idle "hunting" after warm

Make sure you bleed the cooling system completely. Sounds like there is an air bubble trapped in the system.
Old 08-14-2022, 10:50 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Update: I rechecked the coolant and ran the engine heater is hot all lines to and from he throttle body are full of coolant and hot. The system seems to be pressurized and full of coolant. Coolant is flowing so I don't think there is an air bubble trapped in the system. Anything else I should be looking for?
Old 08-25-2022, 09:15 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts