Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

1996 Accord and a Moron with an Air Conditioner recharge/refill kit

Old 06-17-2006, 02:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air Conditioner Pressure Issue and using recharge/refill kits (96 accord)

Hi
First of all, i am a total novice and know very little about cooling systems on a component level.

The air conditioner in my 1996 Honda Accord stopped producing cold air. The fan still works but only blows normal/hot air. The fuse is fine. The compressor turns on and off when i press my AC button, i can feel it kick on and kick off as needed. This means the clutch is sending the appropriate signal and engaging the compressor.

I bought an A/C recharge/refill kit (Brand: Inter-Dynamics) from the local automotive parts store. Unfortunately, i performed the first steps of the kit out of order, which i think may have caused a problem.

The first thing i did was connect the PSI gauge/hose to the low-pressure port, which the gauge read 10 psi. this means i am low on refrigerant. However, I connected the PSI gauge while the vehicle was turned off. You're supposed to do this while the vehicle is turned on. Therefor, i disconnected the gauge. Turned the vehicle on and turned on the AC as you're supposed to and reconnected my gauge. At this point the gauge reads 100psi. 100 PSI on the gauge indicates that something else is wrong with the system, rather than it just being low on refrigerent.

What is puzzling is why the PSI measurement was so low the first time. The psi went up so high only after disconnecting the gauge, turning the vehicle on and reconnecting the gauge. At this point the psi measurement is still high whether the vehicle is on or off.

Modified by modernteknology at 6:32 PM 6/17/2006
Old 06-17-2006, 03:15 PM

Default Re: Air Conditioner Pressure Issue and using recharge/refill kits (modernteknology)