Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

92 Accord Won't Start

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2010, 08:02 AM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon3 92 Accord Won't Start

URGENT: I need my car working ASAP; I need to get to school! I do have another option to drive, but it doesn't have the permit required to park on campus.

I've been having alternator problems (I think) with my 1992 Accord EX lately, and now it won't start at all.

Whenever I drive my car on the interstate for a while, then slow back down to city speed limits, my battery light comes on. If I only drive at city speeds, the battery light rarely comes on. This has been going on for almost 6 months now. I'm a college student living on-campus, so I rarely had to drive it during the semester, and when I did, I almost never had to take it on the interstate, so this problem wasn't a big deal.

I'm now living with my parents for the summer, but taking classes on campus. I now drive 20 minutes on the interstate every morning, and the car has been doing exactly as I described every morning. As long as I put it in neutral when I can (or turn on the air conditioner on one of the higher settings, oddly enough), the battery light turns off. Also, if I'm in neutral at a stop light, and the battery light is off, it will come on if the blinker is on, and blink in unison with the blinker.

Thursday and Friday of this week, I head a very faint noise that sounded like a slipping belt, but only after getting off the interstate, never when first starting the car. I didn't drive it at all on Saturday, and today (Sunday) the car won't start.

When I turn the ignition, I get dash lights, power locks and windows work, CD player works, even headlights come on, but the engine doesn't even try to turn over. When I try to turn it over, the dash lights fade, power windows get sluggish, and the CD player turns off completely.