Notices
Engine Management and Tuning Crome, NepTune, Hondata, AEM, MOTEC

DIYMIKE How to: Chip your own ECU

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2008, 04:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIYMIKE How to: Chip your own ECU

well this is my first How-to i promised awhile back... but the purpose of this DIY is to help some of the tuners out there save some money. i have never ever took my car to a mechanic. i have been working on cars since i was 15 years old and learned from a Haynes manual.

some of you have seen my old civic ef9 hatch that i built from the ground up. i want to encourage you that anybody can work on a car. Just take your time.

anyway here is the write up....

first thing i must explain....

you can only chip these honda/integra ECU's:

OBD-0 (88-91)
OBD-1 (92-95)

(you can not chip obd-2 ECU (96-00)

anyway here we go....

first step: get your ecu and remove the (5) screws on BOTH sides

it should look like this...

PLEASE do not be scared... this is the only section we are going to focus on..

Then get your chipping kit from an online source......(xenocron.com, moates.com just to name a few)

OKAY now comes the desoldering.

Tools needed:
soldering iron (buy a new tip)
desoldering wick from radioshack
electronic solder

YOU WILL ONLY BE DESOLDERING THE FOLLOWING.
-74HC373
-J1
-r54
-c52
-c51
-and optional if you want to datalog... which is the whole purpose of tuning. ( CN2 )
-also remove j12 if you are going to be tuning.

Tips on desoldering......

when you use the wick. place it over the joint and put the tip over it in a slant.

this is NOT what you want to do, it won't get hot enough.

This is exactly how you want to do it. the more area, the more heat. using this technique, the solder will be sucked up by the wick in a few seconds.

ALSO when you desolder... do it from the REVERSE side...

here is the 74HC343 soldering points desoldered

here is the 74HC343 chip being mounted.

flip it over and then solder the pins