Detailing Auto Detailing and Concours

Help cleaning engine compartment - 2003 Honda Civic LX

Old 01-18-2012, 07:13 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help cleaning engine compartment - 2003 Honda Civic LX

Help cleaning engine compartment - 2003 Honda Civic LX

Hi everyone,

New member, full disclosure, I work for Autogeek and before that Meguiar's. I"m not here to promote any products but ask some questions that hopefully the in-house experts can help with. I've been posting to Usenet since 1993 and forums since vBulletin was introduced, so I'm way to savvy to start spamming any forum at this point in my life.

Question
I'm cleaning the engine compartment on a 2003 Honda Civic LX and would like to know what components in the engine compartment I should be careful around and/or cover up or avoid 100% from getting any cleaners, degreasers or water around.

I have an article on detailing engine compartments and what the article recommends is to join a reputable discussion forum before cleaning the engine and engine compartment and ask the experts what to look out for as it's highly likely they'll have solid information.

So as a manner practicing what I preach, I've joined this forum because of it's good reputation and am hoping to get a lending cyber-hand from the regulars that have first-hand experience detailing Honda engine compartments from the 2003 model year.

I would have posted this in the detailing forum group but I actually read the welcoming PM which stated I'm restricted to the Tech forums.

I'll get some pictures of the engine compartment and post them as soon as I can.

Thank you ahead of time...

Mike Phillips
Old 01-18-2012, 07:32 PM
MiG-21 superfan

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Help cleaning engine compartment - 2003 Honda Civic LX