Notices
Audio / Security / Video Sound Systems, Alarms, Electronics

PPI PC450 amp and car battery...

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2004, 11:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PPI PC450 amp and car battery...

Hey guys, I was wondering how many of you guys have used this amp before or are familiar with it?

For some reason the on light is always RED whenever the amp is given no power. The amp functions fine when the car's on or it's running off the battery (the on light is GREEN, like it should be), but like I said, as soon as I turn the car off the amp goes into RED mode, so to speak.

Now, I've been running this amp and a 500W subwoofer amp for about 2 months and the PPI amp has always done this ever since I installed it. Even so, the car always started and stuff like normally until this week. All of a sudden my car's battery is dying after sitting for less than a day. I'm curious if this red light has slowly been draining my battery to death for the last 2 months and finally the battery is losing the fight? Or does that little red light run off of a built in battery in the amp so it shouldn't affect my car's battery or what? I'm trying to narrow down the issue here, so any help would be appreciated!

Btw, the battery is two years old.
Old 09-04-2004, 05:49 AM

Default Re: PPI PC450 amp and car battery... (rkonfire)

Well, the little red light is an LED, meaning it pulls extremely low amperage...i think maybe .1A if that...

No, if anything is it's that the amp is still on but in protect mode. To be honest, this is the first time I've ever heard of this problem, usually when an amp is in protect it won't work at all.

First thing you need to do is check all of your wiring. You WILL need to have a mulitmeter on hand. Test to see if the amp is still recieving voltage on the remote wire when the radio is off for starters.