Notices
Audio / Security / Video Sound Systems, Alarms, Electronics

Minimal alarm install question -- need to connect ignition/starter?

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2016, 09:13 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Minimal alarm install question -- need to connect ignition/starter?

So, I'm a noob when it comes to this. I have an Autopage RS-665 2-way paging alarm going into an EG. I have installed a standalone kill switch and the alarm when armed will ground a wire to do an additional kill. I don't want to use the built-in start kill at all (I can't even tell for sure if the alarm has this, the info from the factory is unclear). I'm also not messing around with the remote start. I'm looking for the alarm to trigger in response to door/hood/hatch opening and in response to sensors I will install. I want to keep the install minimal as possible. As far as I can tell, this will entail hooking up 12V constant and ground to the brain in addition to the various triggers and outputs (door actuators, sirens).

My question is, can I install this without messing with the ignition or starter wires? If I'm not doing remote start and not using the alarm's built-in kills, is there any reason I should wire that stuff up? Would love to hear back from somebody with experience. Thanks.
Old 11-21-2016, 04:08 PM
fcm
Old Fart

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Re: Minimal alarm install question -- need to connect ignition/starter?

What year is your civic?
You will need the Yellow heavy gauge ign. one output lead, [also works as ign. input for alarm] none of the other heavy gauge leads are needed.
It should be connected at the ign. switch harness "true" ign. [hot in run and start].