Notices
Audio / Security / Video Sound Systems, Alarms, Electronics

Installing Compustar 2W900FM-AS in 2000 Accord EX

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2009, 01:55 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Installing Compustar 2W900FM-AS in 2000 Accord EX

Well, I've installed a LOT of ICE over the years, but this is my first attempt at a true alarm/remote start, and after reviewing the wiring diagrams I've downloaded from the12volt and the install manual from Compustar, I have to be honest and say I'm overwhelmed.

I've got all the trim pulled out to access fuse panels and harnesses, and started running down the list of wires I'll need to tap/splice, but I'm getting confused which wires are which. For example, I'm looking for the parking lights wire (red/black) in the driver's side fuse panel, but I can find at least three red/black wires on either side of the panel! Also, I'm seeing many wires with different colored dots on them. Does that signify anything? If I find a red/black wire with silver dots at the fuse panel, is that different from a red/black wire?

So far I've positively identified the following wires:

Constant 12v+
Starter
Ignition
Accessory
Tach
Brake Switch
Trunk Release
Trunk Pin

I still need to locate the following:

Parking lights
head lights
factory disarm
door trigger
Door Lock
Door Unlock
Driver's lock
Driver's unlock
Passenger unlock
Horn wire

Or at least I think so... lol

I want the alarm to function with inputs from the hood/trunk and door/dome lights, as well as a tilt sensor, shock sensor, and glass break sensor. I want the remote start to function, and I want to wire in a relay to cut ground to the main relay if the alarm is triggered so the car can not start.

One more question I have is the +/- in the Compustar manual. If it says "(-) Light Output" does that mean it's a switched ground from the alarm brain? And am I supposed to tap into this wire, or actually cut it and splice it directly to the brain?