Notices
Appearance Build Threads Showcase and discussion for projects and theme cars.

*EK Hatch Build* My first Honda

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2016, 08:50 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default *EK Hatch Build* My first Honda

Hello all,
first let me start off by saying i've always owned VW's and Audi's.
Been working on them since high school, and as everyone im sure has... learned a lot through trial and error.
Over the years i had two builds i dug into, and became addicted to working on my cars!
I've never done a build thread before so i figure i'd give it a shot.
This car will be a learning experience for me so expect some mistakes! So be easy on me :p

My old Jetta:

My old A4 (Never ended up installing my coilovers before i sold it):

Since these cars i've been leasing new cars, and haven't had a project in a few years.
I finally bought my first house and decided to get a super cheap project to have fun with since i had a garage now!

I always wanted a 90's Honda and finally pulled the trigger on a 97 EK hatch.
Took a bit of a risk and drove 2 hours to get it, ended up getting it.

Car has a D16Y8 swapped into it, with 72,000km's.

Things the car had upon purchase:
-Unknown Adjustable Coilovers
-Two way starter
-Generic Strut bars everywhere
-CTR Spoiler (Rep im sure)
-Lovely Ebay Coffee Can Exhaust
-Ebay Racing Wheel
-CF Whale intake? Didnt know this was a thing lol
Im sure you get the idea...

As for the condition of the car, lets just say it needs a load of work to get it up to par.

First pic's i got of it when i purchased it:

I started off by getting a full inspection done to see what i needed to address first in order to get it to pass the insurance inspection. The list was quite long.

-Fix all causes of CEL
-Fix leaking caliper
-Fix Airbag light
-Fix headlights (High beams wouldn't stay on)
-Fix Wipers (only worked on highest speed)
-Figure out why there was no 02 sensors