Notices
All Motor / Naturally Aspirated No power adders

new here need advice from sumone wit similar high compression build as me b18/b16

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2011, 07:35 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new here need advice from sumone wit similar high compression build as me b18/b16

Hey honda-tech, I'm new here and need sum advice from Sumone with a Similar setup. I've done countless numbers of research and still no straight answer. This is my first build and currently running a B18c1 block bored .25 over, decked a lil jus to clean it up, cp 12.5:1 pistons, je rods, girdle, block guards. B16a2 head skunk stage2 cams, valve springs, retainers, cam gears, manifolds, fuel rail, 310 injectors, fpr, etc... The pistons have a really high dome it kinda worries me. The motor is already in the car and i will start adjusting timing and checking clearances soon. Now my question is what kinda compression does this yield, and how good/bad is the clearances. We only have 93 octane here and i will run oem ecu to pass emmisions then prolly use my chipped p28 for the time being until i get my neptune/hondata. i'm using an oem head gasket now but also have a thicker cometic .060" gasket in case i need. Will this be safe until i get my new ecu and get tuned? Whats the best way to check piston to valve clearance?
Old 07-10-2011, 07:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: new here need advice from sumone wit similar high compression build as me b18/b16

Silly Putty
Old 07-11-2011, 10:08 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: new here need advice from sumone wit similar high compression build as me b18/b16

12.5:1 with 93 octane is fine but you should crank the car up first, let it idle and warm up, shut it down, change oil, then i recommend towing it to your tuner and breaking it in on the dyno.

i would not drive it around until its tuned
Old 07-11-2011, 10:34 AM

Received 234 Likes on 209 Posts

Originally Posted by 88Hatchy
Silly Putty