Notices
Acura RSX DC5 & Honda Civic EP3 Includes DC5 Integra Type R & 5dr Civic hatchback

Problem Civic!!! Please Help...

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2010, 08:34 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon6 Problem Civic!!! Please Help...

Hi all, May I introduce me & my car to you at the same time, As its my 1st post (But not the last, Promise)

I have a UK model, & am Based in UK London...

Heres what she looks like, As I assume you lot dont have this shape in the US etc...

I have been banging my head against the wall for the last 4 months, & I have not solved My problems with my civic...

Hence I turn to honda-tech for help...

I originally bought this as a Project, Even though I have done 80% of its work, the last 20% is not happening!

Its only a 1.4 automatic, So Really Really a Basic Standard honda compared to all you guys cars...

My problems are:

1. The cars OBD2 Port is not reading / linking / communicating with Any scanner / code reader that I have used (No matter how expensive / or cheap it is, I have tried around 6 different models, My own, & those of a garage)

2. The car is stuck in limpmode (when I turn the car on, for the 1st 20secs or so it works fine, But as soon as the 20secs pass, It lumps itself into limpmode, leaving the check engine light ON, being an automatic its hard to drive as it only can use a few gears & cant rev over 3000 rpm, & starts useing more fuel then an Bmw M3

This history of the car is it was Salvage / rebuilder (it had light front damage) & the airbags were set off because of this...

I have fixed the panel damage, Bought a set of airbags, Fitted them (with a USED airbag ecu that came with the Airbag kit, & seatblets /pre tensioners) BUT my SRS light is still on! & so is the Check engine light...

Sometimes I think its the Ecu?
Sometimes I think its the tranny?
Sometimes I feel like it may be the Knock sensor? (shall I bypass it? as many of you have done?)