Notices
Acura RSX DC5 & Honda Civic EP3 Includes DC5 Integra Type R & 5dr Civic hatchback

AC Compressor, Evapansion valve and receiver / dryer

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2016, 05:55 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AC Compressor, Evapansion valve and receiver / dryer

My AC compressor bearings are shot

I spent a few hours this weekend disassembling my compressor and expansion valve. I was able to confirm the terrible noise coming from under the hood was from shot bearings in the AC compressor.
I spent 2-3 hours getting the front end disassembled and the compressor removed and another 2-3 hours for the blower-motor. The receiver/dryer looked pretty simple so I didn't remove that yet. This took longer than it should have, for a few reasons...mainly due to the fact I've had this car for close to three years and the only time I turned a wrench on it was to replace brake pads & rotors. I'm far from an expert on these kind of things.

Here's a few tips I didn't see in the manual that may save you a little time. Read the shop manual for details:

1. Remove the Bumper and driver-side headlight, and radiator. While I spent a little time trying to determine if there was a way to remove it with the radiator in place, I wouldn't bother. It all has to come out.
2. I didn't remove the alternator or the condenser. Hopefully I didn't damage the condenser while removing the radiator.
3. PB blaster / liquid wrench. Don't forget to use some chemical assistance on the compressor bolts. Have metric box-end wrenches on hand...my flex extension wouldn't access the last bolt.
4. For changing the expansion valve, get under the dash and take the blower motor out in one piece. I started to take the blower motor out in two pieces (top and bottom)...which was difficult and time consuming...way too many tap screws and clips that are difficult to reach.