Notices
Acura Integra All Integra Except ITR

do the valves hit the pistons?

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2009, 03:23 PM
New User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default do the valves hit the pistons?

Hi everyone, my girlfriend has a 2001 acura integra ls without VTEC, it is all stock and she broke her timing belt. I am a Toyota master tech so I'm going to replace the belt, but on Acuras like this, do the valves hit the pistons when the belt breaks? Most Toyotas do not hit, you can break belts all day and just replace them and the car runs great. But some Hondas hit valves to pistons, so what about this car? Do they hit? I will find out anyways after replacing the belt by a compression test, but I want to give her peace of mind if I can
Old 03-22-2009, 05:21 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: do the valves hit the pistons?

I would say "most likely" but I guess it depends on the situation such as idle or high revs, yes if you set timing right-after you install a new belt-do a compression test and simply rotate the crank by hand a few times to listen, I would make sure before you try to start it so that you dont cause more damage if you have a bent valve. I have never had this problem and hope it never happens. If you don't get compression then its most likely a bent valve or a valve not seating right...Hope this helps
Old 03-22-2009, 05:37 PM
In The Garage

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

yes, hondas are "interference engines", meaning pistons and valves occupy the same space at certain points in the rotation, bending valves when mechanical timing is off too much
Old 03-22-2009, 06:19 PM
Honda-Tech Member

its probably f'd, cheaper and less headaches to just get another b18
Old 03-22-2009, 09:10 PM

yes this is an interference motor
Old 03-23-2009, 03:36 AM
Honda-Tech Member

i'm pretty sure the ls motor isn't an inteference motor. i've heard of people snapping their timing belts and the motor being fine with a new belt.
Old 03-23-2009, 08:32 AM